Some employers offer their employees subsidised memberships to gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Discuss both views, present your opinion.

Nowadays public debate has been going on over whether employers should offer their employees subsidised memberships to gyms and sports clubs. Some believe that this would make their staff healthier and more effective at work. Other employers disagree and see no financial benefit in doing so. Firstly, employers by giving out memberships as a perk of the job might increase their employers ' motivation. As a result, workers will be more effective at work, will seek to reach objectives quicker. In addition, subsidised memberships might help employees reach a balance between work and life, by creating meaningful free time activity. Well-balanced people are happier and have more energy to do their day-to-day job, thus showing better results at the workplace. On the other hand, some employers believe that companies should not give out subsidised gym memberships because it has no financial benefit for the company. By giving out such perks corporations tend to overspend, which might even lead to restructuring companies or filing bankruptcy. For this reason, employers choose not to give out expensive job benefits and in doing so reduce the risk of redundancy. In addition, it is believed that the inner person's motivation should be the thing that pushes someone to seek carrier progression. For this reason, companies that believe in the mental and physical capability of the workers refuse to give out such memberships. In conclusion, some employers give out memberships to the gym, believing this will up their employees' motivation and health. While others, seek to protect the company by not giving out expensive bonuses. In this way keeping the company away from the dangers of overspending and redundancy.