Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main source in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative source of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, fossil fuels are still primarily used at many places in the world. However, this tendency will change in the future because of the more and more application of alternative sources such as wind and solar energy. In my opinion, this is definitely a positive development. One of the reasons why we need this change is that fossil fuels are non-renewable, that means they will be used-up someday. Moreover, they cause bad impacts for the environment and of course human’s health through the burning process such as many kinds of harmful gasses. As long as we continue to take energy from fossil fuels, these remain unpreventable. On the other hand, alternative sources have a great deal of merits. They are unlimited and can be found anywhere on the Earth, so humans can maintain their use even hundreds or thousands years later. Especially, they are assumed to be environmentally friendly. If alternative resources become widely used, the environmental issues will decrease. In conclusion, I think it is time for us to switch to alternative resources which do not cause any problems for the environment and the living.