The leaders of most organisations tend to be older people.However, some argue that younger people tend to make better bosses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topmost positions in many organisations are occupied by people from the older generation. Some members of society argue that younger people make better leaders. This essay completely disagrees with this statement. I believe that the elderly are better suited to function at higher positions because of their high emotional intelligence and wisdom gained through experience. Emotional intelligence is closely related to the overall maturity of a person. Senior citizens are better at handling issues diplomatically and good at maintaining interpersonal relationships as compared to their younger counterparts. Hence, they make excellent managers and can get tasks done smoothly. For instance, Ratan Tata a well-known industrialist is the chairman of Tata and Son, he is famous for the way he handles human relationships and gets work done on time. Besides this, elders have more life experiences and have been through the most challenging situations. Hence, they know how to solve problems effectively and come up with plausible solutions. In addition to this, they are able to anticipate issues which could affect workflow using their foresight. For example, certain German multinational companies make sure that they hire people over the age of fifty as managers so that the business prospers economically. In conclusion, the older generation is much better at handling critical situations due to their wisdom and maturity which have been acquired over a period of time. The youth due to the lack of experience is unable to handle tricky situations efficiently. Hence, I disagree with the statement that they make better bosses.