One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think are the cauces of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is known, nowadays, that cities around the world constantly grow in population, therefore, amount of cars increased in recent years as well. However, this tendency leads to the problem of traffic congestion. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will elaborate on the causes of this and suggest possible ideas that could potentially solve the issue. Firstly, almost every big city has an issue with road planning. In fact, together with urbanization, there is a legacy from previous versions of the city. As long as new objects are constructed, they need to be connected by roads. A detailed plan, in turn, is required to avoid challenges like traffic congestion. For example, if Astana, the capital of Kazakhstan, was planned by good urbanists and engineers, it would have fewer traffic congestions. In contrast, Uralsk being the capital of west Kazakhstan has never had car issues due to a well-organised planning system. That is, a possible solution, which would improve the situation, is to plan a city roads system beforehand, thinking about its potential growth. Secondly, citizens of large cities usually have fixed working hours, hence, a majority of the public is busy at the same. Moreover, most of them use cars in order to come to work, which, in turn, results in traffic congestion. For instance, London is known for its big number of company branches at the centre, which has road issues at the peak time, when employees of such companies come to work. I think that uniformly distributed office hours for all citizens could solve the problem and get rid of peak times. In conclusion, I would say that there are at least two big reasons for the problems in large cities: insufficient roads plannings as well as biased working hours. Nevertheless, priorly designed road systems together with flexible office hours for employees should solve the issues.