Overeating is a more widespread problem in the world in comparison to hunger. Why overeating is more important than hunger? What can we do to tackle overeating?

We live in an era, where people have limitless access to plenty of material goods and also food. Human beings stopped controlling themselves and they eat more than their bodies need to survive. Hunger is no longer the biggest problem nowadays. Nevertheless, there are some options to change people's habits. Overeating is more significant than lack of food in the world in the 21st century. The population is more wealthy and citizens do not think about what and how they eat, which can lead to obesity. Fat people are more likely to suffer from various diseases because their organism cannot manage the weight. For example, it is easier for corpulent people to have a heart attack, therefore it can lead to premature death. Secondly, people's choices have an impact on animals as well. We kill enourmous number of cows and pigs just to taste a hamburger or steak and it has also a negative effect on the environment. For example, slaughterhouses use a great amount of water, which as we all know is a major source in our lives and we definitely should limit the usage of it. Moreover, the animals eat wheat and vegetables and these could be used to feed poor societies. However, the government is able to make a difference. People in parliament should make fast food restaurants and meat in general, more expensive. As a result, people would think twice before they ordered a meal in such a place and by limiting meat in their lives, they would eat more vegetables and fruits, therefore they could avoid obesity and help some animals on that account. In conclusion, the aforementioned points show that overeating is a huge problem these days. It makes people ill and the environment suffers because of people's choices. However, there is a possibility to change the way it is and as a result, save some lives, not only human lives.