Some people get into debt by buying things they son't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem.

In recent years, the modern lifestyle pushed our society into a world of overconsumption. According to estimates, a few people have entered into debt, as their expenses excel against their earnings, therefore, posing a serious problem to be solved. Faced with such a challenging situation, it is imperative that the leading factors are identified before the appropriate measures can be implemented. To begin with, an obvious reason which accounts for overbuying items is social pressure. To justify this, one should take into consideration the influential role social media have obtained nowadays. Indeed, adolescents spend the majority of their free time surfing the net and getting updated about the latest trends. As a result, they inevitably believe that mimicking influencers will drastically raise their popularity, thus, their confidence. For example, several orders have been registered regarding make-up collections that were created by famous persons, such as the Kardashians. Another factor that increases the drive of humans to possess useless valuables is the expansion of the advertising industry. Due to the fact that one gets bombarded with numerous brand-new products during commercial breaks and through leaflet distribution as well, they subconsciously feel they are in need of them, even when these goods are overly expensive Once the roots of the problem are apprehended, effective measures are easy to prescribe. It is vital that all parents become aware of this situation and get complete control over their child's purchases. What is equally important, is educating kids about the significance of saving funds. Lastly, it is high time that the government enacted laws regarding the diminution of advertisements so as to mitigate the issue. To add a specific example, if the quantity of these promotions gets reduced, less will be spent on insignificant objects and a more thorough search will proceed, consequently, overcoming unaffordable shopping sprees. All things considered, even though bankruptcy seems to be an alarming problem on the rise in most nations today, the apprehension of its fundamental causes enables families and authorities to resolve it. The combination of increased parental supervision and the introduction of teaching programmes as well as the prohibition of unchecked adverts will surely contribute towards reducing the behaviour that needs to overcome one's financial abilities.