Does the educational success of a student depend on the teacher or the attitude. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Some people agree that educational success is all from the students doing. Others think that it is all influenced by their teacher. I personally hold the view that both have weight in this equation. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, there is nothing a teacher can do if the student does not put in some work. Even with an amazing teacher, the student needs to go and study. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I had amazing professors in college, they made every subject easier in the way they taught. But, after the classes I needed to go to the library and stay hours studying, otherwise, I would fail. One time I had a lecturer that made things seem so easy that I thought I did not need to study. As a result, I had a really low score on my midterms, in contrast, when I put in the work for the final exam I received the highest mark. Furthermore, there is a limit on what the student can do alone, and the teacher needs to give guidance to point the right direction for the pupil. For example, when I was writing my thesis my advisor would disappear for weeks and when we spoke he did not give me any direction if my research made sense or what should I search for to make it better. Consequently, I spent hours reading academic papers, looking for better motivation, instead of focussing on programming and data cleaning. One day he asked if I could change advisors because he did not have enough time to help me. My new advisor was really patient and pointed me to what would be better for my research and in the end, we published my thesis. In conclusion, I strongly agree with both points of view. The teacher needs to give the tools to the student, but the student also needs to be willing to work with those tools given.