Some people think a country benefits from a large proportion of young university students, others think sending young people to universities only lead to graduate unemployment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Few individuals often believe that a nation would be benefitted from having a huge portion of youth as college students, whereas others are of the opinion that it would just add the graduates to the unemployed group of people. In my opinion, academic studies do not help an individual or a nation to flourish progressively in their professional career as it does not really help to lead a life in the competitive world. On the one hand, graduated students would definitely help boost the economy depending primarily on two factors. Firstly, based on the quality of education provided in the university that he/she graduated from and secondly, depending on the demand and opportunities pertinent to the stream of study. For instance, in India, each year at least half a million graduates out of which half of them belong to computer science pass out of college. However, fifty per cent of those pupils won't get jobs due to a lack of job openings in their respective streams. Therefore, such people end up choosing a profession where they are overqualified. On the other hand, a substantial proportion of institutions in the entire educational echo system do not possess the required standards to teach an individual with necessary practical practices so that they can apply them in their professional career. Moreover, education is something that is not always directly proportional to money earning because no learning centres would teach a person how to earn money in the graduation course. For example, a major percentage of the most successful billionaires across the world have never been successful in their studies. So, it does not really decide the accomplishments a person could achieve in his life. In conclusion, it is completely understandable that education enriches a person's intelligence quotient and assists in enhancing the skills such as interpretation, analysis, and rationale ability. Nevertheless, it's not the major factor to determine the employment and advancement index of a nation.