Nowadays children watch a lot of Tv and play video games. however some people think that these activities are not good for a child's mental health. what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, technological gadgets such as TV and video games have influenced the life of every individual including children. Some people consider this hazardous for the mental status of youngsters. I personally agree with this statement and will give my arguments in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, There are a plethora of side effects of watching tv and video games for minors. I will explain a few of them in this essay. To begin with, firstly, they spend significant time setting in front of the tv and computers which will, in turn, weaken their eyesight. Moreover, spending most of their time playing virtual games will also affect their physical health. All these ultimately affect their mental health. For instance, my neighbour’s son is addicted to playing computer games this has negatively affected his eyesight and he started wearing glasses at an early age. Secondly, excess use of these gadgets also has a detrimental effect on the social and interactive skills of children for increased screen time undermine their interaction with friends and family members which leads to inappropriate social behaviours. On the other hand, these hi-tech devices have some positive sides. To elaborate on this point, there are useful games which require different strategies to play and by practising these games children learn a variety of tactics which they can apply in their studies for further success. Furthermore, they can watch educational programs under the supervision of their parents to boost their academics. To sum up, although there are some positive sides to spending much of the time watching TV and playing video games. In my opinion, these are harmful to the mental health of a child.