Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Nowadays people spend less time on their leisure activities. This trend has a serious impact on personal and community life. There are several reasons for this phenomenon. Needless to say, the leisure time plummeted in the recent decade and we are dominated by the digital world. Myriads of people are lured by the internet and its concomitant services. In other words, people used internet services in the olden days only for their professional life and for acquiring relevant information. Whereas, this generation spends most of their free time on social media with their gadgets and they are addicted to these services especially Facebook, Whatsapp, and Twitter. In addition to that, humans dedicate most of their time to achieve their set career goals, so they have to work around the clock and they do not even get time to look after their family life and health. For example, one of my uncles used to be passionate about cooking exotic dishes. Now that he works at a multinational company, he seldom cooks. On the other side, demotivation, obesity, and mental stress are the consequences of not having hobbies. When folks engage in / people engage in some kind of hobbies like cycling, football, and other brainstorming activities, they not only gain motivation but also manage to ease their work pressure. Eventually, they can rejuvenate their mental and physical life. The lack of participation in these physical activities makes them victims of many diseases such as heart attack, high cholesterol and depression. In addition to that, people who have less leisure time mostly become a threat to society and they are more likely to get involved in antisocial and criminal activities. To conclude, advancements in the digital era have supplanted hobbies from human beings’ life. This trend becomes really a threat to the individual and society. Therefore, we have to allocate some time for leisure activities in order to replenish our life.