Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, the mass population believes that pupils should be given the choice to opt for what is best for their educational development. Whereas, few are of the opinion that students need guidance and hence they require subtle direction to choose electives that are science and technology-based. This essay will put light on both perspectives and finally form an opinion that permitting a student to choose the subject he is interested in will play a vital role in his professional development. To begin with, nowadays primary education has advanced a lot which grooms a pupil to make an informed decision about his higher education. Moreover, it is medically proven that giving an option to a tutee to choose his graduate program plays a significant role in his human development. For instance, a study conducted by UCL (University College of London) states “upon analyzing the data received of 10,000 pupils graduating in the past year’s intimates that 90% of the students were those who opted the subject that they self-acknowledged whereas remaining 10% were those who went with what their parents or teachers solution”. This distinctly indicates that allowing students to choose what is best for them leads to convalescent academic results. On the contrary, it is noticed that some pupil keeps on changing their subjects which leads to a waste of their precious academic years that are of paramount importance. This leads to slow career progression and losing the race of being the best in their profession. To exemplify, during an interview Mark Garry, Director of UHS (Universal Health Service, Inc.) prompted that the greatest scientists in this world are the ones who started their career before an age of 25 as their brain development is at the prime stage, a pupil who slips their significant years in university life being indecisive about their fundamental educational programs are unable to join these technology conglomerates. In a nutshell, I pen down saying that it should be the tutee who should opt for the subjects which are best for his professional career, not the tutor or his parents. Because this world requires successful professionals or entrepreneurs, not robots who work on others’ input.