Some people say that the government should invest in trains and subway system to prevent traffic congestion in large cities. Others, however, think it should build wider roads. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some citizens support that the state should spend on lines and subways to reduce transport congestion in big cities, while another part of the population believes that the government should construct wider roads. From my point of view, I strongly believe that investing in trains and subway nets is more beneficial than building wider roads. On the one hand, it is well known that a state should provide the population with different types of transportation such as trains, buses, or subways. If the government improves their net of transport, the traffic jam may be reduced. With a variety of transport, people could choose the better way for them to go to their locations such as gyms, works, houses, or parks. For instance, if a whole family works in different parts of the cities and each one uses their car to arrive at their jobs, the road will be more saturated than if each member of the family has the chance to go by bus, train, car, or subway. On the other hand, it is considered that when a road is made wider, more cars could drive on it, resulting in a decrease in traffic jams. In addition, if a road is wider, the danger could be reduced because the autos have more space to drive and have more probability to make good decisions when they may have traffic troubles such as collisions or overtaking when the situation demands a lot of space to act correctly. To conclude, it is important that the state invests more of its budget in trains and subways to reduce congestion, giving them the possibility to their citizens to choose the transportation that suits them.