Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home.  Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Food is not just to satisfy the stomach, but also the mind and heart. In our modern era, people prefer to buy ready-made meals rather than cook them fresh. While many agree with this statement as there are several advantages such as the fact that ready-made meals help save time and effort, I strongly disagree and feel that some of the many disadvantages such as unhealthy and high costs are too great to ignore. On the one hand,there are many pros, especially for those households that have many breadwinners. For example in a family of 4 which consists of 2 parents and 2 children, both parents may be working full-time jobs. Consequently, this restraint doesn't allow them to cook at home and thus buying pre-made grub is the only option. Furthermore, lifestyles in the 21st century have become more sedentary with obesity on the rise. To cite an example, surveys show that the population of the UK and the US have an alarmingly high rate of morbid obesity. As a consequence, people are too lazy and much rather not waste their hours and effort cooking meals. Hence resort to take-out food. On the other hand, the multitude of disadvantages outweighs the cons. Firstly, many believe that buying store-made meals contain high levels of preservatives and additives as well as an imbalance of nutrition. For example, purchasing these meals have additives to increase their shelf lives. These chemicals can pose a danger to many especially minors and can become a major issue for those with special dietary requirements. For instance individuals with high blood pressure or diabetes. As a result, these entities can't be controlled in ready-to-eat items and therefore pose a health risk. Subsequently, buying such grub as compared to raw ingredients themselves can be very costly. For example, a box of macaroni and cheese would cost approximately £3.50 per serving, however buying the ingredients, can give you multiple servings for that price. Moreover, cooking at home allows everyone in the family to get involved, particularly offspring. For example, technology takes up most of the offspring's time nowadays. Communicating via other hands-on tasks can help enhance their concentration as well as strengthen bonds with each other. To conclude, although ready-made meals, save you time and effort. It should be noted, that in the long run, these are not good enough reasons to be resorting to them. Children learn from their elders and not cooking at home or practising safe eating habits can instil such bad habits in offspring. this is why I strongly disagree and feel food should be cooked from scratch at home.