Excessive traffic has made cities unpleasant places to live and work in. For this reason, private cars should be completely banned from city centers. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the cities have pedestrian precincts and from time to time they are in the news because cars have been temporarily banned from the centre to reduce pollution. However, no town council has yet the courage to ban private motor vehicles from entering the city centre. There are several reasons why I should it should be done. The most important reason is pollution from car exhaust, which damages people's health causing respiratory diseases such as asthma and bronchitis. At the same time, traffic fumes attack the stonework of historic monuments and buildings, while the vibration from vehicles damages their foundations. This, for instance, has happened to many cathedrals in Europe.A second reason why I am in favour of cars being banned is in order to reduce the noise pollution from traffic. This forces people to keep their windows permanently closed and may cause psychological problems, including stress and depression, among people living on busy streets. A further reason is that most cities were not designed for motor vehicles. A good example of this is the historic centre of Valencia, which has narrow streets and few facilities for parking. As a result, traffic moves very slowly and there are frequent traffic jams. Beautiful buildings are spoilt by always having cars parked in front of them and pretty streets always become unpleasant traffic congestion and exhaust fumes Finally, I am sure that if cars were banned, people would find other more pleasant ways to move around cities. for example, they would walk or use bicycles as these would once again become safe and enjoyable activities in the city. This in turn would bring about a general improvement in people's health. In conclusion, therefore, I Strongly support the idea that traffic should be banned from city centres, as this would enable people to rediscover cities as pleasant and healthy places to live.