Employers nowadays put more emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many managers pay more attention to social skills. Some people assume that social skills are as crucial as academic skills for job success. Personally, I totally agree with the statement as both social and academic skills play key roles to advance one’s career. On the one hand, formal qualifications are undeniably good indicators of one person’s capacities and specialized knowledge. In fact, many prominent employers really appreciate the intellectual power of their employees, as it is an effective tool to maintain stable development for the enterprise. This is particularly true for occupations requiring in-depth research and innovations such as doctor, engineer or programmer. Therefore, one applicant who is lack proper degrees may have little chance of being recruited and lose opportunities for promotion. On the other hand, stellar credentials do not always guarantee success in a career path and a person also needs social skills. First and foremost, social skills help strengthen the connections between every member of the company. In this modern world, people rarely work individually and often need to rely on others to get the best results. As a result, a strong bond with other employees could lay the firm foundation for further achievements. Additionally, good interpersonal skills help develop the flexibility of employees. Since social skills involve much travelling and meeting with many people, staff could adapt better to frequent changes. In conclusion, although the vital role of technical knowledge in the development of the corporation is undeniable, social skills,which help intensify connections and elevate flexibility, can become good criteria for recruitment. It is predicted that many businesses will require a must for social experience when hiring employees in the future.