Many countries have now banned smoking in public places. Some people feel that government should ban smoking entirely. Do you agree or disagree?

The ban on smoking in public spaces in many countries gives rise to the discussion about whether the government should ban smoking entirely. This essay shall lay out my opinion regarding the aforementioned topic. First, smoking is considered to be a common activity for workers to relieve their stress and improve their focus during the day indifferent from other activities similar to drinking coffee. The only key difference between smoking and drinking coffee is that the byproduct of smoking, which is smoke, may harm other members and that is the reason why many countries prohibit smoking in public. As long as the smoke can be contained or regulated, then smoking should be within the acceptable scope of activities that citizens should be permitted to do. The cons of smoking, however, should be clearly communicated to support the informed decision of individuals. Second, smoking has been considered a cultural heritage in some areas or jurisdictions. For example, many tribes in Northern Thailand considered smoking to be a cultural bonding activity between families and friends. Such activity is in no way harmful to society and there is no reason that the government should destroy other cultural heritage without reasonable justification. In conclusion, I believe the existing control which is controlling smoking in public already serves the government's role to improve the health of the public. Stepping further than that may be considered an intrusion into the freedom of the people and we may suffer the loss of heritage by the blind decision of the authority if such a decision actually happens.