Some people think university education is to prepare students for employment. Other people think university has other functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While many people go to universities to get a job, I strongly argue it has more functions rather than just a training for emplyment. I think one of a significant roll of universities is a research institute. The other is as the storage of knowledge. Universities is the place the scientists get together and can conduct researches to find new theory, material and medicines which we do not know now. Some commercial company companys has research and development organizations, but they have it for money so research topic is limited to applied science or applied engineering. Although these research is important, in university, they can do more fundamental reserch, which do not make money in short term but contributes to all of the people, thanks to the funding from the goverment. Reserchers are also important as their knowledge itself. In addition to that, most of universities have their libralies. People can go there and access huge number of books. It shows the university acts as a storage of knowledge. From above reasons I think university has more function than praparing students for employment.