As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

As the majority of adults spend most of their time at work, being content with their career is a crucial part of a person’s health and happiness. This essay will first discuss which elements lead to business enjoyment and it will then address the question of how likely it is that everyone can be happy with their position. The two most important factors that lead to someone being satisfied at work are being treated with respect by managers and being compensated fairly. If those who are more senior respect the employee as a person and the job he is doing then he feels like he is valued. A fair salary and benefits are also important considerations because if someone feels that he is being underpaid, he will either resent his bosses or look for another job. These two factors came on top of a recent activity satisfaction survey conducted by Monster.com, which found that 72% of people not only were pleased with their current role but also if their superiors regularly told them they were appreciated. With regard to the question of happiness for all workers, it seems to be highly unlikely. Since people are different in their needs, culture and expectations, satisfying all can seem impossible or even illogical. The only matter that can be hoped to achieve would be to reach relative amusement from the whole by providing their requirements on average. In conclusion, being satisfied with a trade or profession is an important part of one’s well-being and respect from one’s colleagues and fair pay can improve the employees’ level of happiness, however, job achievement for all workers is an unrealistic prospect.