Many city centres these days have traffic flow problems, causing congestion and pollution. One solution is to build fast ring roads on the outskirts of a city, taking traffic away from the centre. While this is helpful in some ways, it also causes new problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jams and emissions are common problems for many city centers. In order to tackle such issues, the governments build prompt ring roads, which go through suburbs, because it helps decrease the load on a city centre. Despite the fact this causes other problems these roads are the most effective solution nowadays. Traffic jams are caused mainly by using a city centre for moving from one point of a suburb to another. If drivers were given alternative routes, a downtown would be more empty. Moreover, decreasing number of vehicles helps to reduce emissions, therefore people become healthier. What is more, such fast roads allow to lessen the level of noise from cars. It provides citizens with better life conditions. On the other hand, building roads brings people some difficulties such as closed streets and noise near houses during constructing. For instance, building ring roads in my home city caused closing tram ways for 2 years. Although it brought obstacles for people, this activity was temporary and after that citizens could evaluate advantages of the new road, for example, fast commute, the free city centre and the calm main street which crosses the heart of the city. In conclusion, I would like to highlight, that in spite of the fact, that constructing ring road continues for several years on average and causes some obvious problems for citizens, as a result, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. People get a modern comfortable road, decreased both the number of congestions and a pollution level in a city center.