A government’s role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

The role and the functioning of the government have always been a heated point of discussion ever since the existence of the nations. Some people strongly believe that the government's role should only be limited to defence capabilities and urban infrastructures such as good roads, water supplies and even better drainage systems. To begin with, limiting government interference with the public sector is a significant move to increase work efficiency and minimalise corruption in the system. However, limiting government can cause vacancies in regulations and hence affect the functioning of the other major sectors such as medicine and commerce. Enforcing strict laws to maintain the order of the market is crucial as well. For example, banning harmful drugs in use in the medical field or punishing the practitioners of malpractice or punishing the frauds and scammers for the well-being of the common people. Thus governmental interference is necessary without being limited to defence and infrastructure. However, the other argument states that it is the private sector that should provide all the other services such as education, health and social security. This is true in a way as well because it is the private sector that deals with the everyday market and is well aware of what its needs are. Moreover,the private sector is highly capable of investing large amounts of money into better medical pieces of equipment or accommodating schools with better facilities. However, this also comes with a drawback. Since the private groups invest large amounts of money for the standard services they also come with high charges making them inaccessible to the poor people hence marginalising poor people and worsening the disparity between the rich and the poor. All in all, limiting government to military purposes or expensive public projects by nature creates a small government leading to vacancies of regulations and laws. Whereas the regulatory role that public servants play should by no means be ignored.