mployers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these vies and give your own opinion.

Getting a work these day require to answer some personal questions such as interests, martial status, non work related pleasures etc, which some people argue is irrelevant question while other feel these are important to know the overall character. I strongly agree these personal questions define the compatability of a person. First of all, some people feel that employer should have little concern with one's personal life. Personal information can be misused and create biased decisions. Taking an example of Australian resume whose standard format does not include any personal information. They believe in the notion that employer should only look for skillsets required and right to privacy is given priority. This way someones gender or sexuality are not discriminated against and the level playing field is equal. However, I believe that more we know about the person less are the margin of errors. For example a person who has no social skill cannot be an advantage to the company. Simple things such as martial status can tell if the person is used to responsibilities of married life. A good recruiter takes every hiring as a piece of pussle and see where it can be the right fit In conclusion, additional information will help in making informed decision. Being on the both side of the table as worker and as a boss there are certain responsibilities in each role which requires the best of judgement and knowing more always helps.