In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In developing countries as well as rich countries, there is a serious shortage of students choosing to study science. This essay will clarify the causes and the consequences of this problem. There are a few compelling reasons why students are not passionate with science subjects. The first and foremost reason is that many schools as well as universities were behind the times and slow to dismiss traditional ideas that girls should not study science. Sexists attitudes and traditional male preserve have negatively affected on choosing science courses of students, especially who are female. Therefore, school should abolish selection procedures based on gender. There are many fields of study such ad business, management, or law that are attracting a growing number of students because of its competitive interests. Those professions allow students to have better chances of landing high paying job in the future. Besides, students after graduation could work for large corporations where they can climb on the career ladder. For example, in Vn, according to a recent experiment, on 20% of students after graduating from high school choose to study economics or finance. There are several effects from this trend.Regarding environment, people will lack trained professionals to find effective solutions to urgent problems such as air pollution, water pollution, alternative energy sources or incidents development. For example more scientists will be needed to deal with climate change and meet the enormous challenge of global warming which are extremely difficult to solve. In terms of health, society and government are in need of more qualified researchers to research for a cure to a life-threatening conditions. In fact, there are so many dangerous diseases that people need to add a lot of time and money to Research like cancer, diabetes or Alzheimer's. In conclusion, it is a disturbing fact that the sciences are not the first choice of students, which leads to a lot of important problems. Governments should have effective policies to encourage students to study sciences.