In many countries it is very easy to apply for and be given credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debt they cannot pay back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Credit cards are becoming increasingly popular as banks are offering them to anyone who has a job. According to my view, although a credit card is useful to buy something important when you have run out of money, it makes people owe a lot of money to banks which they are unable to pay off. Credit cards have become a necessity among people who love to shop. It is an easy way to buy an item instantly without worrying about the cost as you are offered the chance to pay it back in instalments using the cashless payment method. Many feel that it is convenient to pay for a thing in portions rather than paying the full amount at once. For example, people tend to purchase expensive mobile phones using bank cards and pay the bill in affordable instalments for months while using them. On the other hand, this service is a trap in disguise which pushes people into debt. Because of the higher cash limits of the cards, shoppers tend to buy even unnecessary things which results a big instalment. However, most of the time instalment payment becomes difficult with other essential expenses. Consequently, people owe a considerable amount of cash to banks making them debtors. For instance, it seems attractive to purchase a trendy phone using a card using 12 monthly payment options. Nevertheless, if at least one instalment got late then the amount that has to pay may become more than the original price of the phone. In conclusion, I strongly advocate that the disadvantages of credit cards outweigh the advantages. Even if it becomes handy to purchase something important when you have no money at hand, it is one of the main reasons half of society is the debtors of a bank.