The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these energy sources in remote and untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating oil and gas in these areas outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these places?

Due to the raised demand and limited supply of crude oil, many researchers are trying to locate energy resources in remote locations. I believe that mining oil in untouched locations has more disadvantages than its benefits, because it will degrade natural habitats through disturbance and pollution. Although there is an enormous demand for fuel, mining in a remote area can devastate that regional environment. The local habitat will suffer because for oil extraction people either have to cut trees or dig huge holes in the crest of the earth. It can disturb the earth's tectonic plates which could result in earthquakes. For example, in the year 2010, an earthquake of 7.5 magnitudes hit the Indo-China mountain range and caused unrecoverable destruction. Some authorities suggest that the earthquake was caused by nuclear weapons which were intensionally used to find sources of natural gas in the area. Therefore, in order to avoid further disturbance, mining in preserved areas should not be allowed. Another way in which mining in a remote space can destroy the surrounding area is through deterioration. Pollutants such as unoperational mining machinery or plastic, and unwanted materials (including gases) can cause permanent damage to the location. To illustrate, Colorado an American city was once known as the mining capital, but presently, it is permanently inhabitable. This is due to the poisonous level of lead in the soil, which was the debris from past mining projects. Another disturbing evidence of pollution was broadcasted when there was an incident of fire in the middle of the ocean, which was caused due to the leakage of mineral oil during mining in the area. That is why humans should learn from past mistakes and mining in untouched locations should be banned. In conclusion, even tho mining in a new remote area can increase the fossil fuel supply, it is a bad idea because it can potentially harm the environment through disturbance and pollution. Even with numerous shreds of evidence, why people are not taking the climate crisis seriously?