Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are a number of individuals who believe it is better for students to follow their interests at university since their likes and dislikes should be respected. On the other hand, another group of society insist that only majors such as science and technology are promising to be pursued by students because the mentioned topics comprise a bigger share of humankind's development. Although groups hold a sensible opinion, I agree with the first statement. On the one hand, many think that only those people achieve success who go after their desires. First of all, if one is not allowed to study what they wish at university, they will not be successful in either what they are forced to study or what they were willing to. For example, my former classmates of mine who studied engineering although they were interested in arts are currently working in neither of these majors. Generally, in my,country the number of people who are employed in the fields that they neither like nor have studied is considerably high. As a matter of fact, studying what you do not like is a waste of both time and funding. On the contrary, some people opine subjects like science and technology are more useful in the future because the outcome is obviously more visible in the development of societies. They suggest that if we had not invested this much endeavour in computers, we would have not reached this level of advancement. According to statistics, more than two-thirds of university students around the globe are educated in scientific and technological fields. That is why we are living more convenient lives. It seems to me that the first statement is more logical. For instance, art has been and will perform a key role in humans’ lives. If art did not exist in the future, there would be no other ways for people to express themselves and their unique feelings. Moreover, everything rooted in the past is worth studying. In other words, history feels to be an obligation to see the result of the investigation in knowledge. Although there has been a big contrast between the fields like painting and math, they do not have a distinct advantage over each other. To conclude, both groups have convincing reasons to support their opinion; however, not only is there no substitute for one of these fields, but also they complete each other.