It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that reading books develops imagination and language skills better, than watching television. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view that TV can also expand speaking skills and creativity in a person. To start with, today’s television shows can be very educational and informative. There are lots of different series and movies that use smart language, which by watching it can teach a person new words or phrases, by hearing it in a context. Watching a TV is even more beneficial if a person is doing it with subtitles, that way they can hear and read the new word. To add to, fantasy genre movies sometimes show creatures and colours to a person, that they could not have possibly imagined by reading a book. Not all authors are very good at expressing their minds on a paper, especially when describing something very unique, which can lead to a worse understanding of a plot line. However, by reading books, a person broadens their grammar skills. There are usually lots of different and never-read-before words on paper, by seeing them oftenly person subconsciously remembers their spelling at the time they need to write something. Also, not all good classical novels or dramas have a movie made about them. There are old stories that should be known by every person, and sometimes reading a book about it is the only way to get to know it. To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to, thus I firmly believe that watching TV can teach imagination and language skills just as well as books can. Although books teach more writing and spelling skills, watching television teaches just as important abilities such as pronunciation and context of the word.