The best way to solve the traffic congestion in the city is to provide free public transport for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that offering free public transport regardless of time and place is the optimal way to tackle traffic congestion in central areas. Personally, I disagree with this point of view despite several advantages as follows. Granted, it is undeniable that the aforementioned idea can serve as a contributor to reducing the volume of road users. To begin with, the charge elimination and unlimited timeline might encourage people, especially those who are financially unstable and tasked with night shifts, to resort to this means of transportation more often. This can lower the number of automobilists and motorcyclists, hence traffic jam alleviation. However, it is the low quality of the inner facilities, such as the lack of ventilation that deters many people from using public transportation, inducing high demand for using personal vehicles that are more comfortable and hygienic. Therefore, the more accessible timeline and free charge are not synonymous with road bottleneck reduction. On the other hand, I believe that there are better solutions that should be taken into account. One of them is to upgrade public transport’s condition by adding air conditioners, for instance, to satisfy users’ experience. The more satisfied they are, the more often they turn to public vehicles, giving rise to less crowded streets. Another element to address the problem is to move enterprises to rural areas where the number of inhabitants is lower. By adopting this modification, not only could people be exempt from snarls of traffic, but they are also incentivized to wield public transportation. In conclusion, offering free public transit without time limitations may bring several beneficial influences, but it is not the best approach to avoid traffic jams.