Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world's meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce world's meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

It is suggested that the production of meat needs more space, compared to crop production. Therefore, people from different societies consider a wise option the reduction of overall meat processing, as the earth is vanishing daily. This essay agrees with this statement. In my opinion, all governments should elevate the quality standards and provide stricter control on manufacturers, and a large campaign on the negative sides of meat consumption should be done for the sake of all people. However, this beneficial to my way of thinking measure could lead to a large negative impact on the economy, as a lot of companies will probably redirect their business interests in some other areas. Firstly, it is of crucial importance that quality control institutions higher their requirements when it comes to the production of meat which will impact general consumption, as less quantity will be offered on the market. Besides this, the main reason why they must do this is that we all know that eating a lot of meat of low quality may affect your health in many ways. For instance, one of the main reasons for cancer is the overconsumption of meat products of any kind. Secondly, if more knowledge is presented to society, regarding the side effects of meat processing for both the human body and the environment itself, most people would limit at least partially the utilization of meat products. The intensification and implementation of such measures, on the other hand, will lead to a lot of protests from various entrepreneurs in the affected area of the economy. On top of that, elevating the quality standards will demand more financial investment in their businesses, which will probably cause a lot of small companies go bankrupt. Furthermore, the price of all meat products will rise consequently, therefore, the consumers will also be affected by those measures. For instance, if one major company is required to invest a certain amount of money in infrastructure, technological improvements, or even maintenance of land, it will respectively lead to an increase in the price of their production. In conclusion, as meat production uses more natural resources than crop production, and taking into consideration the fact that we lose land every day, we have to reduce the overall meat consumption as we improve quality and promote the main drawbacks of overconsumption. In addition, even though some people will suffer from the reduced utilization of meat, we should think in advance for a better environment.