Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

People from different age groups have been showing an inclination toward using social networking sites while this kind of communication causes many dangers. While using social media can cause in being exposed to inappropriate content, it can be useful if used carefully. The advantage of this issue is that since the invention of social media, many people have been better able to connect with each other and also to keep up to date with the lives of their friends, families, co-workers and even celebrities, to such a degree which was previously impossible. Besides, people will be given the chance to post things on social media and find better job opportunities or even like-minded people online. For example, I once contacted a girl on face book who turned out to be an instructor as I am and we have been in touch ever since. To talk about its advantage, it can be said that as people of all ages have access to social media, children can be exposed to adult content, and are themselves vulnerable to be approached by strangers with unknown intentions. Even if children are sure of who they're talking to on social media, social media's issues are not completely eliminated. Cyber bullying is frequently reported in the news, and occurs on social media between children and schoolchildren. However, I believe that if it is used under the supervision of parents, it would be less likely to cause problems for children and it can be very much efficient for them, instead. In conclusion, as long as people are aware of the risks of using social media, and are careful to post only respectful and respectable content, then the advantages of social media far outweigh the disadvantages, and children and adults alike should be allowed to benefit from such technology.