Many children today are exposed to violent video games and TV programmes. How harmful is this? What can be done to fight this problem?

Contemporarily, advancement in technology has made it possible for a significant number of children to play online games or watch TV. However, some people are extremely concerned about the kind of TV shows they watch and the games they play, which they think are unsavoury. This essay will discuss some of the effects of these films and suggest some possible solutions. Firstly, some TV programmes, which are released on daily basis, contain disturbing scenes that are not proper for children to watch. In that, they tend to imitate what they see on these channels and practise them in reality. For instance, a youngster who has watched an actor being bullied in a movie might feel like it is okay for him to do much to his peers. Some may become indisciplined, obstinate, and abusive and may use unprintable words on others as well. Some young people in this situation might even grow up to become criminals in the future, consequently, increasing the social crime rate. However, I think that if all these violent games and shows are strictly regulated by the government, the negative impacts may be evitable. For example, censorship could be adopted in the media industry in order to limit the number of disturbing materials on TV. Additionally, parents should make sure to supervise their children while they are having their screen time. They should set limitations for their wards and ascertain that they adhere to them. Moreover, children could be encouraged to participate in sporting activities which are more beneficial to their health. In conclusion, there are lots of savage playthings and movies that are readily available to the public, nonetheless, children, in particular, should be guided and restricted in this regard. Parents could do their best at supervising their kids in this matter.