Not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects to the society?

In many higher education institutes at different nations, demand for science based subjects is getting decreased. The main reason for this is the difficulty to obtain a recognized distinction in this stream. As a result, many science based companies will face the challenge of not having sufficient number of employees with required qualifications to fulfil different jobs. Science is a complicated field compared to non- science subjects. For a student to excel in this field, he should have logical resoning ability, advanced thinking skills and superior understanding powers. As most of the children are average students who like to enjoy their life, in order to get good grades, theyhave to work extremely hard. Therefore, young learners prefer to opt for easier subjects to secure good results. For example, a survey conducted by a Singapore university using collage students showed that 65% of the sample prefer to continue their higher studies in managment field as they find those comparatively easier. As such, if this trend continues, it would badly affect the science related companies as they would suffer from lack of sufficient competent employees in future. It is difficult to train people for a certain task, if they do not have the sufficient background knowledge. Lack of people with advanced knowledge of emerging sciences will cause a void in the companies and there would be too many candidates for.non- science related jobs creating an employment imbalance in the society. In conclusion, present generation's seemingly selection of non- science subjects has become an issue that must be addressed immediatly. Principle reason is the difficulty of the subject matter which makes students to have bad grades. So, if this persists, it would create a huge demand for science graduates and other graduates may find it difficult to find a good job even if they have a First class degree.