Many people these days move to other countries to live. Some people feel these people should try to assimilate completely to the country where they have moved to, while others feel it is more important to preserve their native culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Migration has been a feature of the human race which was probably started by African migrants more than 50,000 years ago due to climatic reasons. Now the cause this journey is because of economic reasons, mostly from a developing country to a developed country. Some believe that migrants should endeavour to adapt to the culture of the host country as much as possible, while others believe they should retain their cultural values. I am of the opinion that the former approach will have more benefits and this essay will discuss both views and also the reasons for my opinion. It is true that adopting the cultural values of the host country makes their adaptation to the society easier. If they believe in the same religion, and follow similar manners the community of the host country would easily accept them as their own community members. If they go to the same church on Sundays, for instance, they have the opportunity to meet the locals who would see the migrants as members of their own community. Like-minded people can easily associate with each other and this will be the valuable result of this approach. Some may opt to preserve their cultural values, especially when their religious belief is different. If will be more difficult for them to accept the values that are not in line with their accepted religious norms in particular. When their interactions with the local community are less, the invariable result is that their bonds with the local community will be too loose. They have to find a temple or mosque in the near vicinity to meet their community members with whom they will often mingle. They continue to live as a community with a different identity from the wider community. In conclusion, individuals opt to adapt to the culture of the host country or continue to follow the values of their own culture. It is the individual’s choice, but adapting more to the culture of host country would yield more strong bonds with the wider community.