Children of ages 7-11 now spend more time watching television and/or playing video games than before. What are the effects of this on children, Family and society? What are the possible solutions to this situation.

Nowadays, children within the ages of 7 and 11 years spend a majority of their spare time in front of the television. Even a greater number of these children can spend a whole day playing computer or video games. This essay aims at highlighting the effects this trend and it's possible solutions. It is not unusual to discover that a child of elementary school age suddenly starts to get poor grades in school as a result of spending more time playing video games. This could happen over a long period, say one year as these games become addictive over time. Another effect is reduction in social life as these children no longer go to the parks to play, they would rather be in-doors playing their video games or warching a movie. Thus they become social misfits and live a secluded life. Also they could become school drop-outs due to poor grades and as such could turn to crime as they have been exposed to gun violence on TV. This trend can be curbed when parents draw up a schedule for their children. This schedule can indicate time allocated for various activities after school like nap time, play time and study time. Weekends could be allocated for movies or playing games depending on the agreement between the child and parents. In this way, there will be all round development of the child, as social and educational aspects of his or her life will be balanced. In conclusion, we have seen the effects of too many movies and video games on the life of a child. Parents and teachers alike are meant to take note of these effects and proffer solutions as described above for the overall benefit of the child.