Parents, usually mothers, stay at home to look after their families. People believe that for this they should receive a salary from the government. Do you agree or disagree and why?

In this day and age, the number of full-time housekeeping mothers is constantly growing. Some believe governments should pay them salaries. In my opinion, however, I disagree with this idea due to the potential social implications and the increase in financial burden on authorities. This essay will analyze these factors, using examples from the UK government and Stanford University to prove my arguments. On the one hand, full-time housekeeping mothers seem to need financial support from governments. The reason behind this is twofold. Firstly, they look after their families at the cost of being unemployed and giving up income resources. In addition, the expenditure on raising children is rather high, especially during the period when children were very young and cannot take care of themselves. Therefore, some of these mothers might confront financial difficulties without support from the state. That being said, it is unreasonable for authorities to pay housing mothers wages. The primary reason is this measure would be unfair to the dual income families and in turn, have a negative effect on society. That is because some working mothers might feel upset and quit their jobs, if they could not get subsidies from governments merely because they have a job. In fact, recent research from the UK government shows that the unemployed rate in countries which can offer relatively greater amounts of maternity subsidy is clearly higher than that in other countries. Therefore, it is possible that people might prefer to be unemployed if governments provided them with salaries for full-time keeping housing and this will lead to a brain drain in society. Another reason is that such governmental support would pose a heavy financial burden on governments, leading to budget cuts for other social systems. A study from Stanford University shows that in the US there are around half a million new full-time housekeeping mothers increasing each year. This would cost authorities a fortune once they decided to pay these mothers salaries. Consequently, the budget for other social aspects such as medical, educational and transport systems will inevitably be cut down. To conclude, although full-time housing mothers may need temporary financial help to overcome their difficulties in raising families, claiming that they should receive a salary from the government may not be a wise option, as it will cause so many multiple negative social implications. I personally think that being unemployed to better look after families is merely a personal choice. Thus people should be responsible for their own and, while responsibility should not fall on governments.