Many first-year university students discover after they have started their course that their chosen subjects do not suit them. Why does this happen? What can be done to ensure that students can choose a suitable subject?

it is after having started their course that new entrants to a university understand that their choice of subjects is not appropriate. This essay will discuss possible reasons for this wrong selection and the remedies thereto. Perhaps the prime reason for the inappropriate choice of subjects is ignorance on the part of new students. This is mainly due to the lack of time for them to research subjects and the consequent job opportunities available. It is only when the course is started they have an opportunity to listen to other's experiences and views and enlighten themselves on the most appropriate subjects for them. By the time they are well informed, it is too late to change chosen subjects due to restrictions of the university. Making available more information might be the remedy to eliminate this issue. if students are well informed beforehand, they have the opportunity to make rational decisions in selecting their subjects. If the student's requirement, for instance, is migration or post-graduate studies, then they can select a suitable course which may lead to their desired pathway. The university itself should take more efforts in this regard and enrich its prospectuses with additional information on possible pathways. If parents have the time and resources required, they should help their children in this regard. This would dispel any embarrassment, frustrations and heartbreaks. In conclusion, the decisions on subject choice are not always successful, which may lead to frustrations down the road. Therefore, more information should be made available for students to make informed decisions on their courses.