Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. What's your opinion?

It is clear that there are many important factors to select an employee to be promoted to a higher position. Although the length of service plays a major role when it comes to internal promotion, I think that other criteria should be considered more significant. Employees who have been working for a business for a large number of years should be promoted for a variety of reasons. One of those is that those employees have been familiar with their company's operations and policies. This means that they are readily adaptable to existing procedures and handle business-related issues more effectively thanks to their many years of work experience. In addition, if they were not promoted to a senior position with a well-paid salary, they would leave the company. As a result, this could cause the company to lose a highly qualified person, which makes it harder for it to compete with other competitors. Nevertheless, an individual's excellent performance and the ability to listen to other co-workers are viewed as important elements to getting promoted for a variety of reasons. First, highly qualified individuals, even if they just worked for a few months or years, should deserve a promotion to ensure justice. In fact, they could not only adopt new approaches to handling complex issues but also devise many feasible plans to develop the company. Second, by listening to other staff members' ideas, a manager can apply the best solutions for projects. For example, my current senior manager, who just joined the company just over one year, has secured a large number of large contracts with some corporations as he always refers to his colleagues' ideas to come up with creative proposals as well as strategies, contributing to increasing the company's revenue. In conclusion, although implementing a policy of promoting long-serving members is often recommended, I believe that it is also wise to take the performance and the ability to listen to others into consideration.