Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that when coming to recruitment, some organizations tend to favour educational degrees over the personal experience and traits of candidates. There would be several explanations for this tendency, and yet my firm conviction is that it is a declining path of society at large. To begin with, one of the reasons why formal academic certificates receive more preference from certain recruiters roots in the advancement of educational systems. Grasping the expectation of the modern community about the labour workforce, the educational system no longer pays full attention to merely academic performance. In other words, emphases have equally been placed on both interpersonal skills and collegiate knowledge of learners. Recruiters, as a result, express increasing confidence in the productivity of recent graduate students. Additionally, it is believed that since a student has to devote a lot of time and endeavour to his or her study in order to get a university or college qualification, he or she somehow is proven industrious, sturdy and persevering. Notwithstanding the aforementioned beliefs, from my viewpoint, the disposition of putting too much value on the educational level and disregarding other factors in employment appears an adverse movement. Firstly, a lack of necessary skills and experience of university graduates has constantly been one of the most common complaints lodged by employers. Regardless of from which school the newbies graduated, they are often confronted with a lot of hurdles dealing with their clients and are found in need of various support, which significantly diminishes working efficiency. Secondly, given that each organization has its own core values and different positions have distinct prerequisites, characteristics are also an important factor in recruiting policies. For instance, whereas advertising companies would seek candidates with great creativity and sociability, technology giants regularly go for loyalty and systematic-thinking capability. In conclusion, while some reasons could possibly underpin a ground for the concentration of recruiting entities on academic performance, I would argue that characteristics and practical experience should be greatly considered when acquiring a staff.