In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the national economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of relying on tourism as a major source of national revenue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many countries around the world derive their national profits from the tourism sector. However, controversy concerning the double- sideness sides of relying solely on tourism sometimes arises among people. In this essay, I will expound on the advantages and drawbacks of depending on tourism as a way of national revenue. The first positive thing to consider is that citizens are much benefited from the tourism industry. If a particular place gains lots of influential reviews and popularity, more and more tourists flock to that country. Therefore, naturally they will spend a substantial amount of money on many things such as accommodation, food items, and transportation, thus contributing to the growth of the host country's economy. For instance, the Jeju island which is located in the southern province of South Korea, residents are rarely provided with many job opportunities because they are living in geographically remote areas from the capital. However, owing to the numerous affirmative reviews on Jeju island, tourists have been congregating there. This phenomenon offered more chances for residents to be employed. Although it seems tourism brings out the best results for the regional people, it has its own demerits at the same time. The biggest problem that tourism has is its vulnerability to seasons. To illustrate this, according to a statement from a local guide in Vietnam whom I met during a journey, most local people suffer from the lack of tourists in the off-season. Thus this can possibly lead natives who are working in this sector to seek another job. In other words, touristry is not able to ensure long-term employment for civilians. In conclusion, it is not surprising that tourism sometimes should be regarded as the main route of national revenue. Nevertheless, I believe that the countries have to concentrate on developing other means to appropriate money.