Science can now help people to live to the age of a hundred or more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

For centuries, the concept of exceptional life expectancy has been a topic of vigorous debate given the advance in medical science. While one school of thought holds that this might appear to be a positive development, others are of the opinion that its problems are more pronounced. This essay will closely scrutinize both views before showing my final thought. On the one hand, increasing life expectancy can be beneficial for both individuals and society as a whole. On the individual level, the elderly can convey conventional wisdom to the young generation as they have more practical experience. By enlisting the elders, younger people could make more informed decisions, both in terms of personal and professional matters. This can, in turn, translate into forming the foundation for the betterment of society on the societal level. Technically, I am convinced that extended longevity actually entails more far-reaching repercussions. Perhaps the foremost reason would be that centenarians could suffer from various chronic health diseases, which prevent them from leading an active lifestyle. In response to this, governments are having to allocate more funds to subsidize retirement pensions or regular catering fees for senior citizens in nursing homes. This, consequently, could unquestionably take a toll on state coffers. This is particularly true in developing countries, where state budgets are often meager, and overspending on elderly care could possibly result in lacking funds for important sectors such as education or transportation, eventually impeding their economic growth. To summarize, while there are justifications to advocate one extending their lifespan to a hundred, I would contend that this life extension is associated with far more glaring drawbacks.