In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is an irrefutable fact that people have started to invest a hefty amount in their physical appearance in recent times. I strongly consider this a positive development because looking good is their basic human right. First of all, the main reason behind such heavy spending on physical attributes is to become more confident. Many people believe that a decent outfit, a stylish haircut, and beautiful makeup can enhance your confidence by many folds. For this particular reason, many organizations have dress code, they regularly observe the shave of their staff, and they also encourage their employees to use good scents during office hours. Consequently, people have to pay a handsome amount to maintain their physical appearance. Secondly, another reason behind these expenses is a certain kind of inferiority complex in humans. People feel more insecure in their natural looks and to overcome this fear, they go to saloons and spa centres to regain their confidence. Moreover, the prevalence of racism in our societies is also responsible for this spending. People are afraid of taunts and toxic behaviour of society and that’s why they often visit parlours and beauty centres. To put it in a nutshell, investing in physical attributes is a positive development as it can enhance someone’s confidence and it can also save someone from the blatant behaviour of society. Outer appearance can also leave the inferiority complex behind.