It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I partly agree with this statement. Because I think that reading books or watching TV develops different skills at different paste. I completely agree that reading books in your free time is better to develop your imagination. Because when reading a book there are very little or even no images that is why people start to imagine how the carpenters look, their surroundings and their emotions. Of course reading helps to learn language, especially grammar. TV is not that good for developing imagination skills because you just see on the screen how the person who made the movie imagined it. Watching TV just gives small touches to your imagination. For example if haven't imagined a dragon or other crazy stuff. On the other hand TV is great to learn a foren language is much better then from a book at least at first. TV can help to learn how to speak and understand it. overall both ways reading a book or watching TV are good ways to improve imagination and language learning.