It has been observed in many countries that not enough students choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects of it on society?

The recent years have witnessed an increasing number of students choosing not to study science subjects at university globally, which arouse heated discussion among people. In this essay, I aim to elaborate the reasons behind this phenomenon and its influence on society. To begin with, science subjects are generally considered more difficult than art subjects. As technology has been rapidly increasing, it will lead to higher standards and wider range for science subjects such as engineering and medicine. Students who are reluctant to choose science subjects are worried that whether they could pass the exams during their academic years, so they decide to study art subjects including literature, language and management, just to name a few. Furthermore, science subjects are not as lucrative as some other subject such as finance and marketing. Everyone wants to find a decent job with generous pay after their graduation, thus it is not surprising for university students choose those highly profitable industries. Based on the reasons mentioned above, this phenomenon could result in negative impacts on our society in long term. First of all, scientific technology is of paramount importance for the development of society, and it is mainly taught in universities by the forms of various science subjects such as medicine and engineering. By learning these science subjects, students acquire scientific knowledge and convert it into creativity and productivity which benefit our society and the well-being of human. For example, medical students learn medicine in university and become doctors thus make practical contributions to our community. Just imagine if there are fewer people choosing to study science subjects, our society even the whole world are likely to face recession. In conclusion, it is undeniable that science promotes the development of society, therefore it is crucial for related authorities to reverse the trend that less people choose to study science subjects in university.