Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays and beyond work hours. Many people say that this is a positive development while others say that this is a negative development. Discuss both the viewpoints and give your opinion.

It is often argued that contacting staff at all times, even on vacation and over the work hours is a positive development, while others viewed it as a negative development. In my opinion, I believe that it depends on the industry that the staff is working for. There are certain industries like the healthcare industry for example, that requires open communication at all times. First of all, it is widely recognized that open communication is vital in the workplace. A key reason for this is the kind of environment that the staff is employed to. For example, a nurse off duty must be reached at all times in case her co-worker needs to clarify some details of their patient's medication. It would lead to a great problem in case the staff cannot be contacted. On the other hand, it is clear that this kind of setup could lead to employers violating their employees' privacy. This is because, rest days and holiday leaves are an employee's privilege. The staff should not be disturbed during these occasions. For instance, the employee files for a leave of absence to take care of some personal matters. Since the employee was informed ahead, the employer should be able to foresee what he needs from the staff beforehand. In conclusion, I believe that both cases is neither positive nor negative development if it is applied to the wrong workplace. It would be beneficial to have open communications for those industries that need 24/7 communication, however, if employees would exploit their staff's holiday or rest day privilege, then it would result in a negative development.