International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Travelling has always been an inseparable part of human culture. In the modern world, technological development in the transportation department has made travelling for leisure very accessible to the masses. The extreme rise of tourism has affected visited places a variety of ways, sometimes for the better and others for the worse. When a place becomes a travel destination the economy and recognition of it benefit widely. Tourists are usually very eager to pay in order to live a full local experience, rising the income for small local businesses such as hotels, restaurants, local product stores. Also, visitors contribute to the recognition of local traditions. These factors are definitely vital for the flouring of any local society. Tourism, however, has been proven to have some side-effects. In order to attract as many visitors as possible, and therefore maximise profit, businesses tend to commercialize their products and services. Intervening with local traditions and the environment in such high levels which can lead to great degradation of the initial culture of a place and can also become very damage for nature. Overall, travel destinations definitely change dynamically in order to accept visitors. Nevertheless, it is difficult to conclude whether the overall change is positive as it greatly depends how local communities choose to approach this matter. Prioritising the protection of culture and nature would surely benefit both locals and visitors.