Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Job Interviews are commonly undertaken by companies of all sizes seeking candidates to fill a role. They often consist of dialogues between a Human Resources representative of these companies and the professional interested in the position. During the conversation, the applicant's profile in terms of qualifications, skills and work experience is assessed against the job description and the company's expectations. However, some people argue this approach is insufficient for capturing the right employee. In my opinion, to ensure a more accurate hiring process, other methodologies should be explored along with interviews, such as group activities and personality quizzes. The importance of job interviews when it comes to hiring new individuals to integrate a team cannot be dinned. It has proved to be the most traditional and practical method largely adopted by companies worldwide. They can offer vital insights about an applicant and lead to more informed decisions. However, people often act like robots by answering questions in a way they know may be expected by the hiring person. In this sense, other approaches should be introduced for a more holistic understanding of the candidate's capabilities. Many companies are already introducing new methods to find the best matches for their positions. These contemporary approaches evaluate professionals during dynamic activities designed to capture the candidate's behaviour in complex situations where pressure and conflicts are common. In this case, applicants tend to express their real selves, values and logical thinking. The findings are often combined with the interview results as a profile-matching exercise. Another way to further assess the job seekers' profiles is by assigning them personality quizzes. Quizzes are powerful tools that can be used to gather more information about professional strengths and weaknesses. They also can help the company to allocate the professional to the right team and role. Some professionals can naturally act like mediators, while others need to be led by others, for instance. In conclusion, interviews will always be important as they are still insightful, simple, and straightforward and demand minimum resources to be undertaken. However, when combined with other approaches, the hiring process becomes more precise. In this case, companies need to invest time and money to introduce these complementary approaches. Finally, this may make sense for some companies and positions but not for the majority.