Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects instead. It is a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

As time evolves, we see a shift in preference from science-based subjects to more computer-based ones. This has its advantages and disadvantages, but it is evident that this kind of change is more advantageous to the students as well as society. The rising popularity of computer-based subjects can be beneficial to students. With advancements in technology, people today are more exposed to the Internet than ever before and this can gain anyone access to any kind of information they desire, especially students who are much more capable in their abilities to use technology. Generally, science is regarded to be uninteresting and impractical, knowledge obtained from science curriculums is mostly theoretical. It is not difficult to see the reason that computer-based courses are attracting students ' attention. The development in technology also brings changes to the job market. Companies are making requirements for their employees to be skilful in handling computer systems as many organizations nowadays are mainly operated by technology. Employers of promising companies are also seeking those with expertise in advanced machinery. Therefore, having experience in this area can create more opportunities for students and provide them with chances of promotions as they are able to meet their employers’ requests. With the technology industry on the rise, choosing computer-based fields although competitive can be more reassuring to students. Overall, the interest in computer-based subjects is blossoming. It can bring positive developments to the world and students in pursuit of this field can have more opportunities.