Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is observed that some of the languagues such as English are being increasingly used internationally whereas a rapid drop has been identified in the usage of local languages and dialects. This essay will discuss different aspects of this recent development along with relavant examples. I strongly believe that it is a positive development as a whole. In today's age of globalization and information technology, it is becoming a basic requirement for people to communicate on a common platform. The use of English language in different countries has allowed to expand the horizon of fields such as International Business, Technology, Education, Health Care, Entertainment, Travel, etc. For example, a recent report showed that the number of STEM major students going to Germany for higher education has increased manifolds in the past decade in India due to an availability of the english taught courses. Hence, educational and career growth opportunities for any individual is no longer limited to a certain region. On the other hand, it is alarming to see the diminished usage of local languages in many countires. It is known that language can give significant insights on the culturual culture, behavioural, and traditional values associated with a particular group of people. It is important to preserve the local languages and dialects since they are an important piece of the heritage which has been achieved by including local language studies as a part of school curriculum in many countires. For instance, studying a regional language associated with a particular state is mandatory in India as a part of the primary schooling. Communication preferences of parents at home also play an important role in transferring the first language to their kids. In conclusion, considering all the benefits to the society as a whole I strongly believe that increased popularity of some languages such as English is an extremely positive development which opens unexplored avenues for global collaboration in many fields. On the contrary, some measures should be taken to ensure that the usage of local languages is preserved and transferred to the next generations.