Some people think the government should be responsible for solving the pollution problems which result from heavy traffic. To what extent do you agree?

It is commonly argued that pollution brought about by traffic congestion should be solved by the government. I strongly agree with this viewpoint, since I believe the government has a stronghold on the plans and policies that it creates to eliminate or perhaps lessen the effects of traffic congestion that is now evident in the pollution problems that the world is suffering. Firstly, traffic congestion is a result of inadequate road infrastructure. The government should have invested and sourced out funds to build more roads to ease traffic congestion. For example, city roads should be widened and allow more access to business centres, schools and health institutions. Secondly, the land transportation agencies should be more strict in the issuance of car licensing permits. In this way, the number of cars would lessen, thus thereby reducing the traffic jams. It is clear that, car owners also have the responsibility of making sure that their vehicles are in top fit condition. Complying with the clean air act policy of the government should be their top priority. For instance, if all cars are in compliance with the policies mandated by the authorized agencies, it could lead to the reduction of air pollution brought about by the smoke generated by their vehicles. In conclusion, it is the responsibility of the government to take action in order to reduce the effects of pollution brought about by heavy traffic. In my opinion, efforts made by an individual is not enough to combat pollution problems, but mainly the government should spearhead this problem.