Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?”

In the contemporary world, people tend to get influenced by the material goods they see on social media. In addition, ads seen on mobile applications such as Tiktok and Instagram tend to make people make unnecessary purchases. Furthermore, it develops a habit of abrupt spending on useless stuff which adds no value to their lives and creates a serious imbalance in their finances leading to heavy debts. In this essay, I will discuss the root of this problem and try to give a solution before my conclusion is reached. In many cases, the unnecessary spendings usually originate from peer pressure and the fear of missing out. Moreover, people are usually inspired by celebrities on social media and crave to own the things they see in the hands of their favourite actors or musicians. In addition, these unpredictable shopping patterns are also caused due to a lack of foresight on one's finances. For instance, many people were caught wearing huge spectacles worn by a very famous actor in one of his TV shows recently. The solution is pretty simple. One must be comfortable in their own skin. Every purchase must be thoroughly thought through and the necessity of the said item must be accessed before making the purchase. Additionally, people must develop a habit of making a weekly or monthly budget to keep a firm grip on their spending. The habit of saving must be developed to save some amount for a rainy day. For example, studies show that people who make a budget and make sensible shopping decisions tend to have contended lives and are reported to have a higher degree of mental peace. In conclusion, people tend to make abrupt decisions when going shopping without accessing the necessity of their purchases and this results in adverse effects on their lives. Instead, individuals should always try to foresee their budget and try to plan their finances as much as possible to avoid unpredictability in their lives. In my opinion, financial debt is a curse and one must try to avoid it at all costs unless of course extremely necessary.