Food travels thousands of miles from producer to consumers. Some people think it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only ate local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevent examples from you own knowledge and experience.

Due to the globalisation the public is enabled to taste different foods throughout the year, regardless of the place they live in. Whilst many people think it is better to consume imported food I personally believe eating locally grown foods have several significant benefits in terms of economy and environment. It is irrefutable that consuming fresh food that is grown in one's own country has crucial advantages. First, if the people consume local products it is good for earning hard currency in export market. Because we can empower the farmers and the excess food can be exported to other nations. Also, a specific land can be self-sufficient if they grow their own crops. Not only the financial benefits but also there are environmental privileges. Due to the fact that when a solidarity nation reduces imports it minimise carbon foot print. for example, if Sri Lanka grow apples, we do not want to import them from western countries. Therefore, it reduces carborn emission. As a result it stops global warming. However, eating locally has its disadvantages too. First, some countries which have seasons cannot grow some foods. For example, coffee is not grown in western countries but highly consumed in those countries during winter. Secondly, importing food is good for the nutritional values. For instance, migrants in Australia can taste spices from their own motherlands when they are abundontly available in the stores. In conclusion, importing foods has its own drawbacks as well as possitive aspects as discussed above. According to my point of view, I believe consuming locally is better for the economy and for the environment.